It’s been a while coming…

 

This January’s resolution has been to finally do something with this blog. My husband, Mark, actually set it up for me last year, and wrote the first posting, but I haven’t done a thing with it since. So, today I metaphorically girded my loins and got myself some content to post. In my defence, I have been beavering away at artworks most days and they have been getting progressively more complicated to do. It’s been great fun, though.

eastern-bluebird-rs

One of the challenges has been to broaden my work from birds to something other. As you will see, if you explore this blog, I’ve been trying to capture scenes from the local harbours, which are busy and colourful, especially during the lobster season. I also have some ‘house portraits’ that also allow me to work with tiny details, which I love. I don’t think I will ever be one of those ‘freehand’, loose type of painters, much as I admire that talent. It must be my science background coming out! Birds are not being neglected, however, and a few recent pictures have been the result of the desire to produce full paintings rather than vignettes for illustration. I think I will be enjoying this much more this year.

stoney-island-wharf-rs

Another ‘toe in the water’ is a sideline in prints and other items such as greeting cards and calendars. See the appropriate page for current availability. evening-grosbeaks-rsHope that you enjoy exploring my blog. Feedback is always welcome.

Sandra