Tinted graphite

I admit I’m addicted to pencils, so when I came across a set of Derwent Graphitint pencils, I had to give them a try. The set of 24 pencils includes muted and earthy browns, greens, pinks, greys and blues. They are tinted graphite and can be used dry to provide subtle shading or, after wetting, more vivid colours. I thought they would add options for the wildlife paintings and, probably, for landscape work.

I had taken this photo of an old fishing hut on the bar between Inner and Outer False Harbours, at Cape Forchu. last December, with the intention of giving it a go as a painting.

dory-shed-5-rs-watermark

It had a couple of dorys (one named ‘Lady Comeau’) beached behind it. I liked the texture of the hut walls and the muted colour palette. The Graphitint set (24 pencils) lacks yellows and lighter blues, so I supplemented with standard watercolour pencils. I went back to my favourite lighterweight watercolour paper and was overall quite pleased with the resulting picture. A few artistic liberties were taken with the electrical supply box and the number of dorys visible in the picture!

fishing-hut-cape-forchu-rs-watermark

‘Fishing Hut, Cape Forchu’, 7.5 x 9.5 inch, watercolour pencil and tinted graphite pencil on lightweight watercolour paper.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tinted graphite

Leave a Reply

