Guest Photographer

People who read the blog regularly know that I usually use Mark’s or my own photographic references. Mark, in particular, takes excellent bird and wildlife shots and is very generous in allowing me to use them (if he knows what’s good for him ;), that is!). I have only actually gone to a photo sharing site for one piece (‘An Improbability of Puffins’, Pixabay) and on another occasion I used a photo provided, for a commissioned picture (‘House Sparrows’). However, I was recently sent a bird photo by my father, who needed the species identifying. He and Mum had stayed with us for a month this summer, and he had waved his camera at a number of birds, amongst other subjects. One picture, in particular, was pleasing in its composition and he wanted to know what it was. It’s a Magnolia Warbler, a bird as pretty in appearance as its name would suggest.



I suggested that it would make a good subject for a painting, and he thought I was joking, so, here it is! A thoroughly enjoyable return to the bird images, and done in my favourite watercolour pencils. I was quite pleased with the mottled background, which is getting closer to the blurred leafy image I’m aiming for, but I’m not quite there yet. I used a mixture of pencils from the three main sets and the new Albrecht Durer pencils seem to be blending well with the others. This was a smaller piece than I usually do, the image sent was quite small (via e-mail) and I didn’t want to go too large and lose the detail. I really prefer working on larger pieces, but at least it was much quicker to finish. Thanks, Dad, for letting me use your photo, don’t hesitate to send any more you might have!

‘Magnolia Warbler’ 7 x 10 inch watercolour pencil (Faber-Castell Albrecht Durer, Derwent Watercolour, Caran d’Ache Supracolor) on 140 lb cold press watercolour paper (Canson XL).